You can do hard things

It’s a new year… a happy one we all hope. With the start of each year I always feel extra hopeful, as though I have a brand new blank canvas before me. What will it be filled with? Is this even my decision? Is this God’s?

These are the questions that cross my thought wrangled mind. Because the underlying question is actually… “do I trust God with my year?”. Will I let Him be the author, artist, or blogger of my 2017?

As most of you know, 2016 introduced me to motherhood. Emalyn Harper was born in September and has brought the most profoundly tangible love into my world. But the past three months have been incredibly difficult as well. Sometimes more difficult than not if I’m honest. It has been increasingly difficult for me to make the choice every day to be ok with not knowing, not having the answers, not always being in control. It has been hard.

A friend sent me this motivation a while back, “Beautiful girl, you can do hard things”, and it has been my mantra through each hard day as a new mom. More specifically the hard breastfeeding days. (I have a whole blog post coming on this topic)

Your hard situation is probably completely different to mine. Maybe the questions you are asking are along the lines of…

Will I meet someone this year?

Will I be able to pay my bills each month?

We’ve been together 6 years, will he ever propose?

Will I get that job I’ve been working so hard for?

Will this be the year?

You can fill in your own question there.
If this blog post can help in any way then I want to encourage you through your hard things you are experiencing at the moment. I have had these three encouragements on my mind and so as you read this, maybe sit back, take a deep breath and read each one slowly. Then close your eyes and apply it to your situation. Gather your thoughts and then read the next one.

You are stronger and braver than you know!

If I have learnt one thing in my life it’s that no matter what each day brings, I always make it out the other side. Don’t get me wrong, I am ‘captain doubt myself’ but in the end I always persevere, as do you I am sure. We are so quick to doubt or be hard on ourselves that we often miss the truth that we are stronger and braver than what’s in front of us. Sometimes it just takes us saying that out loud, so as you read this say it out loud… I AM STRONG AND BRAVE! I AM STRONG AND BRAVE! I AM STRONG AND BRAVE!

You can do hard things!

Yes beautiful girl, YOU can do hard things. You have been given every good thing to tackle life and it’s sucky days. You have the greatest of all cheerleaders on your side, the ultimate provider, the one who has your back… Jesus. Philippians reminds us that we can do all things through Christ who strengthens us, and Romans encourages us that when our God is for us no one can be against us. No one, no thing, no hard situation… you can do hard things because God is on your side and he has got this.

You are not alone!

There are so many of us out there struggling. Each day you may wake up and feel alone, wishing you could just stay curled up in bed, wondering if the day has to happen. I’ve been there too… you are not alone. This is where I want to tell you to not lose hope. Life is WAY better than the hard things. They may outweigh the good right now, but in the end good will prevail! Reach out to a friend or a family member, let them know how you are feeling and ask them to keep you in their prayers. For a season of your life you may want to ask an older friend to be your mentor, someone you can chat to when life isn’t making sense. I have the greatest mentor who has become one of my closest friends. We sit on her couch and talk for hours, we pray and it’s ok to cry or shout or have no words.

never-lose-hope-hope-quote

You my friend are not alone, there is hope, you can do hard things, and you are strong and brave. Remember this today and through whatever you are facing. Please feel free to comment below with any prayer requests you have. I would love to pray for you and if you need a little extra encouragement today I am here for you.

Leave a Reply

