The position of your heart

What is the position of your heart? As you sit reading this how are you? Really though, how are you?

Maybe the holiday that has just passed has been a great distraction from what’s going on in your heart, and now the looming year ahead has got you up at night.

How is your heart?

I just love what it says in Proverbs 4:23 “Guard your heart above all else, for it determines the course of your life.”

Guard your heart ABOVE ALL ELSE! So today we prioritise the position of our hearts. My prayer is that we would all get to the position of the Psalmist where he proclaims, “My heart is confident in you, O God; my heart is confident. No wonder I can sing your praises!”

The thing that stands out the most is that he doesn’t say “my heart is confident in itself” or “in the world” or “in my job”, no he says “My heart is confident in YOU, O God…”. For me this is where I want to be.

No more relying on myself, or people around me. No more hoping that if I work hard enough my heart will be happy. That is tiring, oh so tiring. I want the position of my heart to be confident in you, O God. Confident in the anchor for my soul, confident in the provider of all things, confident in the father, the friend, the savior.

Teach me O God to be open to you. Guide me as I give you my heart, as I navigate my days may I put my trust in you.

So whatever is burdening your heart, take a moment now to give it to God. Be intentional, maybe you want to close your eyes, envision what is weighing on your heart and then hand that over to God. Put your confident hope in Him. In that moment the position of your heart is right with Him. When we trust in Him we give Him our hearts.

 

Leave a Reply

