This is who I am

Last night I spoke at St Annes Diocesan College for Girls. I prepared a topic called Daughter of the Highest, and since preparing I have been so encouraged by the truths in the bible about who I amΒ in Christ.

Two points that stuck out to me while preparing were Identity and Purpose. These are two aspects of our lives that I think a lot of people struggle with. My talk was aimed at High School girls, however in each season of life there are parts of our identity and purpose that are challenged.

What we often tend to forget is how God sees us. We focus on what people think of us, and we place value on ourselves according to our position in society, when in actually fact the only opinion that should matter is the One who created us.

You might be asking, “Why does his opinion matter the most?” and that’s a great question. I can only give you my opinion on why so I hope you hear me out here.

You see I believe that God created the heavens and the earth, and all that is in it. I also believe that when God created man and women he was very pleased. I also believe that God calls us His adopted children, Heirs to His throne in Heaven. So for me this is all a MASSIVE privilege. My identity is solidified in the understanding that the God of the world loves me so much, enough to call me His daughter and He has a place for me in Heaven. This eternal perspective is why His opinion of who I am matter the most.

Fearfully and Wonderfully made

Because He has created me and called me I find purpose. My purpose on earth is to do all I can do be more like the son of God, Christ. Why Christ and not God? Well same same but Christ actually lived in this earth and modelled how we too should live. Our ultimate mandate, our eternal purpose while on earth is to love one another. This love can be portrayed in many different ways, through care, kindness, patience, serving, forgiveness, romance, marriage and more. It is a beautiful gift to love one another. There is freedom that comes from love.

This is who I am.

I am a daughter of the Highest whose identity and purpose rest in the hands of the creator of the world, my God, my Savior.

Lord I pray for all the women reading this today. My prayer is that they would fix their eyes on you and care only about how you see them Lord. I pray against any abuse and hurtful words that have made them feel less about theselves. God I thank you that when we live in the truth of who you made us to be we find freedom. We know this is an ongoing journey but we ask for strength from you as we live out our eternal purpose on earth God.

Leave a Reply

